Primate Info Net Banner Wisconsin PRC Logo

American Society of Primatologists (Established 1975)
Professional Society
Web Site:


Mission: The purposes of this Society are exclusively educational and scientific; specifically to promote and encourage the discovery and exchange of information regarding primates, including all aspects of their anatomy, behavior, development, ecology, evolution, genetics, nutrition, physiology, reproduction, systematics, conservation, husbandry, and use in biomedical research.

Membership: 450

President: Dorothy M. Fragazy, Ph.D., Department of Psychology, University of Georgia,
Athens, GA 30602

President Elect: Karen Bales, Ph.D, Department of Psychology, University of California, Davis, CA, USA 95616

Secretary: Carolyn Ehardt, Ph.D., Dept. of Anthropology, University of Texas at San Antonio,
One UTSA Circle, San Antonio, TX 78249

Treasurer: Kimberley Phillips, Ph.D., Department of Psychology, Trinity University, One Trinity Place, San Antonio, TX, USA 78212

Committees: Membership and Finance Committee Publication Committee Research and Development Committee Conservation Committee Education Committee Program Committee Awards and Recognition Committee Office of the Society Historian

Meetings: 2012: Sacramento, CA

Publications: ASP Bulletin (quarterly); American Journal of Primatology (monthly)

Grants: Several categories of Conservation Awards and Research Grants (see details on web site); Distinguished Primatologist and Distinguished Service Awards; Student paper and poster presentation awards presented at the annual meetings.

Last Updated: 2012-03-07

[Edit Entry] [Delete Entry] [Search IDP]