Primate Info Net Banner Wisconsin PRC Logo

Primate Taxonomy

Page 63

63) The hylobatids or lesser apes, so called because of their relatively smaller size, include the gibbons and siamangs. There are four species of great apes or pongids -- orangutans, gorillas, chimpanzees and bonobos. Graphic -- Classification of the apes
Click for a better image
Notes: Graphic -- Classification of the apes
hylobatids -- high-low-BOT-id
pongids -- PON-jids
bonobos -- bun-OH-boes
There are half a dozen species of lesser apes; only two are shown in this slide. This graphic does show the names of all the living species of great apes.
Artwork © by: Courtesy WRPRC AV Archive

[Table of Contents] - [Slide Index] - [Previous Slide] - [Next Slide]