Primate Info Net Banner Wisconsin PRC Logo

Primate Taxonomy

Page 33

33) There are two major groups of New World monkeys, the Callitrichids and the Cebids. The Callitrichids include the marmosets and tamarins, the smallest monkeys. A unique feature of this group of monkeys is that they have claws instead of nails on their digits. The Cebids are larger and have nails on their hands. Here are examples of species from each group. Graphic -- Classification of the New World monkeys
Click for a better image
Notes: Map -- New World Monkey Habitats
All monkeys with prehensile tails are New World, but not all New World monkeys have prehensile tails.
Artwork © by: Courtesy WRPRC AV Archive

[Table of Contents] - [Slide Index] - [Previous Slide] - [Next Slide]